BTEC Information Technology

The Computer science and ICT department offer two courses at Key stage 5. The BTEC we currently offer is Pearson BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Information Technology.

The Extended Certificate is for learners who are interested in learning about Information technology systems which supports further progression into creative media education, to an Apprenticeship or entry level employment in the IT sector.

Transition into Key Stage 5

The transition into this course is manageable for students and has a range of assessment types to suit different leaner needs while keeping the course engaging and challenging.

BTEC Information Technology at Key Stage 5

Assessment is specifically designed to fit the purpose and objective of the qualification. It includes a range of assessment types and styles suited to vocational qualifications in the sector. There are three main forms of assessment that you need to be aware of: external, internal and synoptic.

  • Unit 1: Information Technology Systems
    • Externally assessed exam
  • Unit 2: Creating Systems to Manage Information
    • Internally assessed assignment
  • Unit 3: Using Social Media in Business
    • Internally assessed assignment
  • Unit 6: Website development
    • Synoptic practical exam
  • Equivalent in size to one A Level.
  • 4 units of which 3 are mandatory and 2 are external.
    • Mandatory content (83%).
    • External assessment (58%).

Additional and recommended learning tools or reading

Department Members

  • Mr E Clarke (Head of department & Associate Assistant Head)
  • Mrs P Syal (Deputy Head of Sixth Form)
  • Ms D Smith